Another Man’s Treasure

As it turns out, I am not very great at listening to my own advice. I wrote about A Simple Warning not too long ago, and against all the logic in that post I simply could not resist going against the very wisdom I had provided.

About a week ago, Katherine and I went “hiking” in the woods behind our apartment complex. I lace that with quotations because while there are a few moderate inclines, it is primarily flat and pretty wide open back there. I should really just call it what it is and say we went for a walk, but I strive for extraordinary!

I digress.

As we walked along, we happened upon a path which neither of us had ever seen nor walked. The head of the path was no longer apparent and we found it by a bit of luck. And I am so glad we did. This was by far one of the most beautiful of the trails back there. The foliage had time to grow in nice and thick around the trail, and almost the entire way we were able to spot wildflowers of varying size and color. Downed trees from recent storms gave the trek some substance, and a few small bridges over the bubbling brook that ran through the woods were great places to sit, breathe and just be.

Midway through the walk, I spotted a red mass about 100 yards off the path. I let her know my intentions, and then darted towards this potential treasure. Lo and behold, we had discovered a tent that had clearly been abandoned there for quite some time. As we approached, we stopped and listened for the sound of any porpoises. When we were certain that this tent was devoid any marine life, we drew nearer the target.

If you’re reading this, your first thought may be that what I’m about to say involves the theft of someone’s home, but I assure you that this is most undoubtedly not the case. Rusty poles broken and canvas tattered, this tent had no life left in it, except the multitude of spiders, worms, gnats and other creepy crawlies now inhabiting it. If anyone had lived here, they were long gone by now.

In addition to the wildlife that now populated this derelict camping equipment, we dug out a handful of old goodies that suggest this may have been a tent of meeting – and I don’t mean the biblical kind. Using the broken tent poles as giant chopsticks, I pulled out a moldy old blanket, bottles of vodka and Kroger brand orange soda, a pack of old waterlogged cigarettes and some sweatpants never again suitable for human use.

Changing my use of my giant chopsticks, I twirled the remains of the canvas around and around akin to the way I use a fork to eat spaghetti. I hoisted it over my should, ensuring that no part of this mess touched myself or my girl, and began the trek home. I may actually attach some photos this blog for the first time to show how ridiculous I looked.

After a lot of laughter, a couple of stops, and some much needed time with my favorite girl, I arrived back home. I set my prize out on the back deck so that the coming rainstorms might pre-wash the fabric for me. The next step is put it through the washer and dryer, and then Katherine plans to sew up the holes to see if we can breathe new life into this old tent.

Updates to come when this is all completed. Hopefully I will be out camping sooner than originally planned, and for a fraction of the cost!

Much Love and Many Blessings friends,

Brady J. L. Smith

 

Leave a Reply

