Healthy Livin’

Today’s one word prompt is “Healthy.” I know what you must be thinking… “This is the second blog post today. Why is he lying to me? Which word is actually the word prompt for today?” I understand your frustration. Really, I do. It just so happens that I wrote the post about underestimation yesterday and never hit the publish button. Whoopsies.

The last year or so I have really made an effort to improve my health. Primarily, I have been focusing on my diet. Believe it or not, I survived for several years drinking two to three cans of Mountain Dew and eating Totino’s frozen pizza almost every single day, ate zero to few servings of fruits, vegetables, whole grains or anything else healthy that I truly should have been consuming. My food pyramid consisted solely of red meat, sugar, dairy and grease. Only by the grace of God did I not blow up like a balloon, especially considering that my primary form of exercise for nearly two years was pwning n00bs on Halo:Reach.

Brady Old Food Pyramid.jpg

My old diet.

I’m sure that a large part of my diet was simply the fact that I was a teenage boy with an Xbox and several buddies who loved nothing more than to play games and eat junk every night after school, but I can’t help feeling like there was some flaw in my education regarding my diet. Nobody really ever pushed me to eat particularly healthy.

Today I am proud to blog before you now, that I am a changed man. Mountain Dew is an occasional treat, taken in almost uniquely while at the cinema. Frozen pizzas still show up on the menu from time to time. Daily though, I intake a healthy balance of carbs, protein and healthy fats, and I regularly eat fruits and vegetables – even often as a snack!

Even now, I continue to seek new ways to improve my health. Of late, I have been researching the healthiest countries in the world, graded by several factors, and am looking into how to best adopt the practices of those with an average lifespan of nearly ten more years than Americans (I find it astounding that this gap exists!).

This radical shift of mind and heart began when I interpreted a Bible verse in a way I never had before, and had never heard from others. Jesus speaks to the Pharisees about their “cups” being pleasing to the eye on the outside, while being filthy and displeasing on the inside. For some odd reason, when I read that discussion for probably the 100th time in my life, I felt convicted about the way in which I treat this Lord’s temple that I call my own body. I felt that working out and maintaining a healthy exterior meant nothing if I continued to destroy my internal organs with a garbage diet; not to mention the hormonal and mental effects of a diet loaded with sugars and processed goods.

So there I began my slow journey towards healthier living. I’m still not perfect at it, but my mindset has changed and that is most often the biggest obstacle to change. It is a slow and often difficult fight for me, but I know that it is well worth it, and promotes this life I intend to live extraordinarily well.

Care for your bodies my friends; not only on the outside but also on the in.

Much Love & Many Blessings

Brady J. L. Smith

Leave a Reply

