Through Hell or High Water

One of the word prompts this past week was “buddy.”

This instantly brought to mind a man named Tyler. This guy is the Bucky to my Steve Rogers, the Pikachu to my Ash, or perhaps the Rocket to my Groot. Lame, geeky comparisons aside, Tyler is and has been my best friend since the 5th grade. This is somewhere in the ballpark of twelve years ago, and man is that a long time to stay friends.

It hasn’t all been great. We’ve said and done some pretty harsh things. We have insulted one another, broken one another’s hearts and put each other through some pretty low stuff.

But we have also loved well. Tyler has stood by my side on multiple occasions in the emergency room (granted, they all probably involved him somehow), backed me up when no one else would, listened to me dump all my emotional crap, and housed me when I needed a place to stay. There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that he will stand proudly beside me as the Best Man at my wedding someday, and I would not have it any other way.

There are many people that have come and gone in my life, especially during the last five years that I’ve spent in college towns, while Tyler is one who has always been there. He has made a significant impact on my life, and I hope that he would say the same about me.

As iron sharpens iron, God has placed Tyler and I in one another’s lives to encourage, to embolden, to build up, and to bless. I anticipate that I will never know a friendship stronger than I have with him, and I look forward to many more years of trouble, hardship, love and righteousness next to my brother.

Much Love and Many Blessings my friends,

Brady J. L. Smith

Leave a Reply

